Monday, January 22, 2018

Days 145-146: Leaving for Tokyo/First Full Day

Saturday
Today was mostly spent with travel issues: getting ready to go, leaving, travelling, and arriving in Tokyo....finally.  We took a taxi to Pudong Airport, as usual, and wasn't as bad as usual in terms of time. Fortunately, we were able to change our seats on the plane: ANA (All Nippon Airways) gave us a free upgrade to Economy Plus seats, right next to each other, in the middle of the plane. I couldn't have my precious window seat, but at least I got to sit next to Kerry! The flight was great: I listened to music, read a book, and ate the dinner they served (great variety: chicken, rice, veggies, snack crackers, fruit, and even some Japanese sake). However, when we landed in Japan, the craziness began. First, we had to wait in a heinously long line at immigration--it took about 40 minutes to get through it. Then, since we were so late, we had a difficult time figuring out what to do next after we got our bags: eventually, we determined that we need to take an Airport Limo service to the Hyatt Regency. We bought tickets and climbed aboard. The limo took over an HOUR to get to the hotel. By the time we got in, it was almost midnight. (And our flight got in around 9 pm, Japan time.) None of the restaurants were open, so we just ordered room service: cheeseburgers and fries--they were very good! Kerry even ordered a "pot of chocolate"--with whipped cream--which similarly delectable. Soon after, we turned in.

Here are some Saturday pics:

Kerry's new panda pillow.

Kerry in our hotel room.

Our first (room service) meal in Tokyo!

Anime with a girl, her three aunties, and a transvestite boy (the character on the left with the hat).


Sunday
Today was animal day. We got up quite late and spent the entire day exploring Harajuku. It really wasn't that difficult to get to from our hotel. We had to take a shuttle to Shinjuku Station to get the subway, but it was only a five-minute trip. And the subway ride was only about 10 minutes, maximum. Harajuku is, in some ways, everything it's been rumored to be: very eclectic, crowded, and quite the tourist trip. But I really enjoyed it! First we went to a cat cafe called MOCHA on the 2nd floor of a tall building. We had to take off our shoes and put on slippers to go in. Once we entered, it was set up like Alice in Wonderland's world, with references to the Mad Hatter and such all over the place. We had to get our drinks out of a machine, in paper cups, and put covers on them. The cats were mostly long haired and fluffy, but very cute! There was supposed to be a challenge to match a picture of a cat tail we were given with the correct cat, but at the end we were told that we didn't do so, which is just as well because I didn't know what we were supposed to have won anyway. Then we made a quick trip to Candy A Go Go, where they had some candy dolphins and gummy bears that we purchased. We also had a quick bite to eat at a Tokyo McDonald's: we both ordered chicken sandwiches. Mine was called a Chicken Filet-O, which was like a Big Mac, but with a chicken patty. After lunch, we encountered an Owl Forest with a Bengal Cat Cafe, so we went to both: they were combined in the same place. The owl forest involved walking around a path, encountering owls, and petting them as long as they were agreeable to it! The Bengal cat cafe was similar to the other: slippers, no shoes; drinks out of a machine; only 30 minutes of time. Most everyone sat down on the ground, put their coats on the ground, and let the cats come to them and set in their laps. I couldn't do this because it's hard for me to sit cross-legged, so I mostly stood and watched Kerry do so. Still, I petted cats and had a nice time. Later, we went to a crepe place in Harajuku: Harajuku is famous for its crepes. At first, I got a salmon and cream cheese one, and Kerry got one with meat and lettuce. Then we tried dessert crepes: I got a green tea cheesecake one, and Kerry got one with Nutella. Afterwards, we went on to a hedgehog cafe; once again, 30 minute limit (although this didn't seem to be strictly enforced, as it was in the Bengal cat cafe), and we proceeded to pet hedgehogs--and what was cool is that we were allowed to pick them up, unlike with the cat cafes!!  What a unique experience. Eventually, we got home and had a late supper at the Caffe: Kerry had lasagna, and I had a cheesy pizza--neither was anything to write home about, as my Mom would say.

Here are some Sunday pics:

Japanese money.

My favorite cat from MOCHA.

Selfie at MOCHA.

Harajuku girl.

Owl at the entry to the owl forest.

Petting an owl.

Kerry petting a Bengal cat.

Holding a hedgehog!

Kerry watching some hedgehogs.

Harajuku girl at the subway. No one gave her a second glance.

Tokyo at night.




I'd like to add some other general impressions so far:

  • Tokyo is EXPENSIVE. We are going through money like water.
  • People are generally very polite, it's true. They wait in line at the subway; then, when the subway shows up, half stand to the left and half stand to the right and they (gasp!) wait for the people to come out to enter! How unlike Shanghai! It's like Moses parting the Red Sea.
  • Tokyo reminds me much more of New York City than Shanghai does. A lot of Westerners, a lot of well-dressed, fashionable people. 
  • People speak English more here than in Shanghai; they'll even come up to us on the street and offer help--in English--which is nice.
  • I'm not overly impressed with the food yet. Granted, I haven't had any real "Japanese food," unless you count the crepes in Harajuku. So we'll see.
I'm sure I'll form more opinions later.


No comments:

Post a Comment