However, once class began, I was good. I had to tell one student that he needed to start using evidence in his response papers or I was going to keep giving him zeroes. He didn't give much reaction to this; personally, I don't think he's doing the reading and he's getting stuff off the Internet. He doesn't participate very well in class either. Today I lectured on "Themes in The Great Gatsby." The class was attentive during my lecture but 4-5 of them started playing with their phones during the class discussion, and I called them out on this (but without singling out anyone in particular). I am beginning to feel that the class discussions are very regulated and not very spontaneous. Some of the students just want to read these that they've written down previously, and they give very "prepared" responses. On the plus side, quite a few of them do participate...because they're forced to do so by the discussion leaders.
After class, Aleks walked with me to the place where I was supposed to get a cab. Of course the driver called, but Aleks handled it for me. It was a long ride to the airport; I kept in touch with Kerry (who was taking his own cab) the whole way. Ultimately, the ride cost 338 RMB, which is probably the most expensive cab ride I've had here in China, other than the one from the airport when we got back from the USA. It was 298 RMB, and then he charged me an additional 40 RMB fee....I still don't know why. But I paid it because he wouldn't have let me out of the cab otherwise; Chinese cab drivers lock you in the cab until you pay the fee.
At the airport, Kerry and I met up at the J area in Pudong airport, where we encountered a long line (surprise!). We didn't have problems getting seats (except they were far back in the plane), but, oddly enough, they did a baggage check on our one bag...why? Because it had liquid in it: my eyeglass cleaning solution. We have been carrying liquid in our bag all over China, and this is the first time we've had to deal with this. Strange.
The immigration and security lines were quite short, but I thought I lost Kerry's battery charger in security, and it turns out I put it in my pocket. When I told the security people that I lost it, they acted completely indifferent. And I know it doesn't do any good to yell or scream; they honestly don't care. They are there to do their job, not help zany Americans in trouble.
We had a lunch at Starbucks (chicken ceasar wraps) and then waited for the flight. The flight was pretty uneventful--and fast--they did serve us a good meal of tomato-based rice and peas with shrimp, watermelon, seaweed cookies, and some sort of red bean gelatin cake. Overall, pretty tasty. When we landed, the immigration line took over 30 minutes to get through. Fortunately, though, the taxi line was pretty short. The taxi drivers looked very professional, sporting shirts and ties, and they spoke English to us.
We checked into the Via. We had a smaller room this time because we got the "economy" size room, but there is still a lot to like: a soft bed, a nice TV with a lot of English stations, great shower. After we changed our clothes, we went out to the Japanese restaurant near the hotel that we liked so much last time. We had salmon sushi (well, I did), Japanese chicken, hamburger skewers, and a Japanese baked potato with pollock roe. Once we were done, we explore the Ximending area a bit--it's a great atmosphere, like a party every night. There was a street performer dancing, lots of music, shopping, street food. It's an amazing, vital area of Taipei.
Late night in Taipei:
| The hamburger skewers from the Japanese restaurant that we loved! |
| Kerry, late night in the Ximending. |
No comments:
Post a Comment